Home World Group names Lois Auta among 25 “Sheroes” to celebrate Nigeria’s 25 years of democracy

Group names Lois Auta among 25 “Sheroes” to celebrate Nigeria’s 25 years of democracy

by Sejoro Ekundayo
Published: Last Updated on

Invictus Africa, an organisation that promotes human rights and gender equality through data-driven advocacy, digital technologies, and capacity development, has nominated Lois Auta among 25 Sheroes in commemoration of Nigeria’s 25 years of democracy.

The group, on June 12, released a video celebrating each individual’s roles in shaping history and their significant contributions to the birth, development and strengthening of Nigeria’s democracy in the last 25 years and beyond.

INN reports that in 1999 Nigeria transitioned from a military system to a democratic government and this year, June 12 marks 25 years since the transition.

The organisation described Lois Auta, a wheelchair user, as a physically challenged individual who champions inclusive legislations for people with disabilities in Nigeria.

According to Invictus Africa, “In 2019, Lois Auta ran for a seat in Nigeria’s lower legislative house becoming the first person with disability to do so.”

Auta had earlier described herself as the voice of women and girls with disabilities who wants to see their rights fulfilled and their issues mainstreamed into government’s agenda.

One of the unique aspect of the #25of25 is; Lois Auta was the only woman with Disability recognized and celebrated in the likes of great and powerful women.

In her message of appreciation, Auta thanked Invictus Africa for the recognition, she added that being nominated among women heros who have played significant roles in shaping Nigeria’s history despite having so many women and women with disabilities who are doing wonders is a great feat.

She urged women with disabilities to do their best to keep fighting for their rights until it is given to them.

Among the 24 other Sheroes nominated were Elizabeth Adekogbe, Dora Akunyili, Professor Nnena Osi, Ayo Obi, Yemi Adamolekun, Aroma Otte, Dr. Joe Oke Odumakin, Seyi Oluyole, Ifueko Omoego, Justice Mary Odili, and Christiana Anyaewu.

Also on the list were Senator Abiodun Olujimi, Jennifer Ekwudi, Cynthia Mbamalu, Hafsat Olaronke Abiola-Costello, Busola Ajibola, Funke Adeoye, Rukayat Shittu, Josephine Okeme, Chief Alimotu PeleWura, Dr. Ameyo Stella Adadevoh, Oby Ezekwesili, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo Iweala.

According to Invictus Africa, “these women represent just a fraction of many others who have been instrumental in the continuous development of Nigeria’s democracy.”

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.