Home Disability News Group Hails As Gov Ugwuanyi Assents Enugu State Disability Bill Into Law

Group Hails As Gov Ugwuanyi Assents Enugu State Disability Bill Into Law

by Inclusive News Network

In appreciation to the efforts of Enugu State House Of Assembly and the Executive arm of Enugu State government to ensure that appropriate measures are put in place to protect Enugu persons with disability through the adoption of the disability Act, the Executive Director of Heroine Women Foundation who also doubles as State Sub-Committee Chairman of Gender Based Violence, Welfare and Support, Mrs Onyinye Mamah, has joined her colleagues from other sister bodies and civil society organisations to thank the governor of Enugu State, His Excellency, Rt. Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, for swiftly assenting to the 2022 Enugu State Discrimination Against Persons With Disabilities Prohibition Bill, calling it a major milestone in the development and protection of the rights of persons with disabilities in the state.

Enugu State Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi had recently signed 2022 Enugu State Discrimination Against Persons With Disabilities Prohibition Bill into law, the law will protect the rights of Persons with disabilities in the state.

In her thank you message released on April 25, Mrs Onyinye Mamah also commended the relentless efforts of her colleagues who stood behind persons with disabilitiy community in Enugu State such as Barr. Catherine Edeh, the Executive Director of Voice of Disability Initiative (VDI), Mr. Onyebuchi Mbah, the Chairman of JONAPWD, Mrs Miriam Menkiti, the Executive Director of WINET, Dr. Ifeoma Chukwuma, the Executive Director of EMINENT and other persons who in one way or the other, contributed the successful passage of the Disability Bill.

While commending some states for adopting and passing the Disability Bill; Akwa Ibom, Adamawa, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Delta, Ebonyi, Imo, Ogun, Osun, Katsina, Kebbi, Gombe, Rivers, Taraba, and Yobe, she urges other states that are yet to pass the bill to borrow a leaf from Enugu State, hinting on states in the North Central (Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, and Plateau States), Northeast (Bauchi State), Northwest (Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Sokoto and Zamfara States), Southeast (Abia, and Anambra States), Southsouth (Cross River, and Edo States) and Southwest (Ekiti, Lagos, Ondo, and Oyo States).

“It is only when governments of every states implement the disability laws in their various states that persons with disability will be guaranteed equals to other Nigerians for all purposes in the Federal Republic of Nigeria” she concluded.

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.